Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Facts about Presidents

Grover Cleveland is the only President to have been elected for a four year term, lose the election for a consecutive term and then come back and win again at a later point. He was first President from March 4, 1885 through March 3, 1889. Benjamin Harrison then defeated him in the next election. President Cleveland, however, one the office back for a second term from March 4, 1893 though March 3, 1897. Although he is one person, he counts as two Presidents.

Here are some more fun presidential facts to consider. The oldest President was Ronald Reagan who was 77 when he left office after a two term run. The youngest president was Theodore Roosevelt who was sworn into office at the age of 42 after the death of President McKinley. John F. Kennedy was the youngest President actually elected, going into office at the age of 43.

Seven presidents have died in office – William Harrison, Zachary Taylor, Abraham Lincoln, James Garfield, William McKinley, Warren Harding, Franklin D. Roosevelt and John F. Kennedy.

Virginia has produced the most Presidents with 8. Harvard leads universities with 5. We have had 43 presidents from George Washington to George Walker Bush, but only 42 people have been President. How can this be? President Cleveland caused the problem.

During a mike check that was actually broadcasting, President Reagan announces he has outlawed Russia and will start bombing immediately. President George H. Bush, the first Bush, becomes ill at a state dinner and vomits on the prime minister of Japan. President Clinton is impeached for infidelity. President George W. Bush, the second, gives a surprise shoulder massage to the German Chancellor, Angela Merkel.

No comments:

Post a Comment